By using, you agree to our terms and use of cookies to enhance your experience.

Leading professor wins award for international diabetes work

By Editor
7th June 2018
Good practice

A leading professor based in Wales has won a major award for supporting the establishment of diabetes care services in Mauritius, Trinidad and Peru.

Professor David Raymond Owens, who is a clinical professor in diabetes at Swansea University College of Medicine, picked up the international prize at the Royal College of Physicians (RGP) Excellence in Patient Care Awards.

His work involved forming diabetic retinopathy screening programmes and foot care services, as well as initiating training for retinal screeners and new specialist nurses in the countries that needed the specialist services.

The Sandwell and West Birmingham Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) and NHS Trust Diabetes in Community Care Extension (DiCE) team also scooped an award.

They were presented with the patient-centred care prize for developing a specialised team to join up individualised diabetes management between the community and hospitals.

The DiCE team also picked up a prize

The DiCE team up-skilled and give ownership to patients and carers in order to increase hospital clinic capacity and improve the overall quality of diabetes patients’ care.

RCP president Professor Jane Dacre said: “It is always humbling to hear from our members and fellows about how they are striving to improve care for their patients. Once again, I have been blown away by the many impressive examples of doctors at all levels working together to champion excellent patient care, both in the UK and internationally.”

The winners of the awards were unveiled at a dedicated ceremony held in the RCP’s Dorchester Library on Tuesday, May 29. The awards were launched in 2015 to promote and reward the impressive work that physicians are doing around the world to improve patient care, through education, innovation, research and clinical practice.

Winners received a plaque and from RCP registrar and president-elect Dr Andrew Goddard.

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment