By using, you agree to our terms and use of cookies to enhance your experience.

Nottingham scoops insulin chart award

By Editor
19th November 2014
East Midlands, Inpatient Latest news

A diabetes team at Nottingham hospitals has been awarded a prestigious national prize for promoting “excellent practice” in insulin safety.

Consultant Physician Dr Jenny Clayton and pharmacist Sonia Gilmore, of Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust, were presented with ‘The Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award’ for a ‘best in class’ insulin prescription chart.

The detailed six-page chart combines insulin prescribing, clinical instructions and patient glucose monitoring.

Dr Clayton said: “I’m delighted to see that the work done at Nottingham University Hospitals Trust to improve the safety of insulin prescribing has been recognised and shared.”

The award, which saw 41 submissions, was organised by the Joint British Diabetes Societies (JBDS) for Inpatient Care group, which is jointly funded by the Association of British Clinical Diabetologists (ABCD) and Diabetes UK to improve the quality and safety of care for people with diabetes who are admitted to hospital.

The submitted charts were anonymised and judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson, a former National Clinical Director for Diabetes, against predefined criteria based on National Patient Safety Agency 2010 guidelines on safer administration of insulin.

This initiative aims to promote excellent practice in insulin safety

Professor Mike Sampson, JBDS – IP Chair, said: “This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in insulin safety, and we hope to make this an annual award for inpatient safety initiatives. We are grateful to Christine Jones for coordinating this award.”

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet led the project, with the awards presentation taking place at the autumn meeting of the ABCD earlier this month.

The winner Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust (Dr Jenny Clayton)
The Runner-up East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust (Erwin Castro and Dr Umesh Dashora)
Highly commended Worcestershire Royal Hospital (Joanne Shuck)Western Sussex Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Naomi Burns)

Dr Hillson’s fellow judges included Dr David Gerrett, Clare Crowley, Elizabeth Hackett, Dr Stuart Ritchie, Bridget Turner and Esther Walden.

For more information, visit or contact the Safer Insulin Prescribing Group:;;

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment