By using, you agree to our terms and use of cookies to enhance your experience.

Rowan Hillson award winner announced

By Editor
13th April 2018

The winner of the Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award 2017 has been announced this morning.

Dr Stuart Ritchie, Consultant Physician, of Western General Hospital, NHS Lothian, has been declared the winner from a competitive  field for his entry ‘Development of an inpatient diabetes dashboard to drive quality improvement’.

The theme for this year’s award was ‘Best Digital Initiative’. This initiative from the Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care aims to promote excellent practice in insulin safety. The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson MBE against predefined criteria. The winning submissions are available to download from ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites.

Dr Charlotte Boughton, Diabetes and Endocrinology SpR and Clinical Research Fellow, of King’s Insulin Safety Group, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London, was highly commended for her entry ‘Preventing hypoglycaemia following treatment of hyperkalaemia in hospitalised patients’.

Dr Hillson, a former National Clinical Director of Diabetes, said:I would like to thank JBDS-IP, all the organisers, and the judges for their continued time-consuming input, with especial thanks to Christine Jones for her indefatigable contribution year after year. The chair read entries with considerable interest but did not judge them.

The incredible work and dedication of diabetes teams all around the country for years has shown that the care of inpatients with diabetes can be improved. There is still much to do to ensure that everyone with diabetes in hospital has a safe and reassuring experience.

This year’s competition was challenging and the entries showed a great deal of careful thought, hard work, and ingenuity from the local teams and their colleagues. There is a lot to be learned from every entry. The judges were unanimous in agreeing the winning entry.

“Best wishes and thanks to everyone who participated in, and helped organise and judge this year’s award.”


Dr Rowan Hillson – Chair
Dr Ketan Dhatariya – Consultant Physician, Endocrinologist, Diabetologist, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Dr Clare Crowley – Medicines Safety Pharmacist, Oxford University Hospital NHS Trust
Oliver Jelley, Editor, The Diabetes Times
Erwin Castro, Senior Diabetes Specialist Nurse, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

There will be an awards presentation at the ABCD meeting on Wednesday 23rd May 2018 in Glasgow.

For more information, visit: or or contact the Safer Insulin Prescribing Group:,,

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment