By using, you agree to our terms and use of cookies to enhance your experience.

Rowan Hillson award winners announced

By Editor
4th May 2017
Care planning, Good practice Inpatient Insulin pumps

The winners of the 2016 Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award have been announced.

Out of 19 submissions, the independent panel chose two joint winners, Dr Suma Sugunendran, who is a consultant in endocrinology and diabetes at the Royal Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, and lead pharmacist of diabetes and endocrinology Sallianne Kavanagh, from the Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.

Sara Qureshi, who is the lead pharmacist for theatres and anaesthetics at St George’s University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, was recognised as a runner-up.

Rowan Hillson insulin Safety award is a prestigious award to promote insulin safety in hospitals.

It has been running successfully since 2014 under the auspices of the Joint British Diabetes Society chaired by Prof Mike Sampson and supported by the Association of British Clinical Diabetologist chaired by Rob Gregory.

Dr Umesh Dashora, Erwin Castro and Debbie Stanisstreet are the national leads for Safer Insulin Prescribing group and they organise the competition every year. Christine Jones of JBDS co-ordinates the event.

The submissions were judged by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson against predefined criteria. Fellow judges included Caroline Brooks, Gillian Cavell, Dr Clare Crowley, Dr Daniel Flanagan and Nicola Wake.

Dr Hillson said: “It is absolutely excellent that there were 19 entries for this year’s Insulin Safety Award. I would like to thank everyone who submitted entries and all those who developed and participated in the projects across the country.

“There is no doubt that the work done by these teams and all their colleagues in their local hospitals is driving improvement in the care of people with diabetes and for patients who are given insulin to lower unduly high potassium levels. There is much to commend and a great deal of expertise and enthusiasm to share nationwide.

“There were so many highly impressive entries that the judges had a particularly challenging task.  I would like to thank all five judges for their thoroughness and very hard work in assessing the projects. I am very grateful for the hours of concentrated time you contributed to this.

The winning submissions will be available to download from ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites.

There will be an awards presentation for the joint winners at the ABCD meeting on Wednesday, May 10, 2017 in Belfast.

Please contact Dr Dashora at for any further information.

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment