By using, you agree to our terms and use of cookies to enhance your experience.

Submissions required for annual Rowan Hillson safety award

By Editor
1st November 2018
Education, Good practice

Entries are open for this year’s Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award with the theme being educational diabetes programmes for healthcare professionals. 

The national competition has been running successfully since 2014 under the auspices of the Joint British Diabetes Society – for Inpatient Care (JBDS – IP) chaired by Professor Mike Sampson and supported by the Association of British Clinical Diabetologists (ABCD) and Diabetes UK.

The submissions, which must be entered by February 28, 2019, will be judged against predetermined criteria by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson MBE, National Clinical Director for Diabetes from 2008 to 2013.

The competition is open to all healthcare professionals but only for projects which have been undertaken in the last three years.  

The winner will be awarded the prestigious annual Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award at the ABCD spring meeting in May 2019.

Competitive applications are likely to be those that show hard evidence of benefit, are translatable to other trusts, are costed, are relatively simple and sustainable and have been commissioned, or supported by, an acute trust. This competition is open to all healthcare professionals.

This year the project is being led by Dr Umesh Dashora, Debbie Stanisstreet, and Erwin Castro.

Dr Dashora, who is a Consultant in Endocrinology and Diabetes at East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust, said: “We have been successfully running this award for the last four years and have found excellent practice and exemplary innovations in some Trusts which can be easily emulated at other places to improve safety for inpatient with diabetes.”

Previously the competition has found the best digital initiative, UK insulin chart,  hypoglycaemia avoidance initiative and the best pharmacy initiative.


To enter, download and complete the entry form and send it to JBDS Administrator Christine Jones ( Any supplementary materials to support your initiative should also be added as these will be considered as part of the judging process.

2017 winner

Pictured above, Dr Stuart Ritchie, Consultant Physician at the Western General Hospital, NHS Lothian, was the winner of the Rowan Hillson Insulin Safety Award 2017.

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment