Entries sought for 2019 Rowan Hillson award

By Editor
7th January 2020

Healthcare professionals are being urged to enter a national competition showcasing excellence in inpatient diabetes care.

The 2019 Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award is open and the theme for this year is ‘Best Perioperative Pathway for People with Diabetes’.

It is organised by Joint British Diabetes Societies for Inpatient Care (JBDS – IP), with the project being led by Dr Umesh Dashora, Debbie Stanisstreet and Erwin Castro.

The submissions will be judged against predetermined criteria, by an independent panel chaired by Dr Rowan Hillson MBE. The winner will be presented with the prestigious annual Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award at the ABCD Spring meeting 2020.

The outcome of this initiative will be published on the ABCD, Diabetes UK and DISN UK Group websites to share excellent practice.

Dr Umesh Dashora said: “Competitive applications are likely to be those that show hard evidence of benefit, that are translatable to other trusts, are costed, are relatively simple and sustainable, and which have been commissioned or supported by an acute trust. This competition is open to all UK healthcare professionals.”

The deadline is Friday, February 28, 2020.

Dr Kath Higgins, Consultant in Diabetes Care and Clinical Lead for Inpatient Diabetes Care at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust, was announced as the winner of the 2018 Rowan Hillson Inpatient Safety Award in April for a project which saw insulin medication errors fall by almost 50%.

To enter, click here to download the application form.

Comments (0)

Register an account or login to comment